Working Here

Auckland's Three District Health Boards


The people of Auckland are well served by three District Health Boards – Waitemata District Health Board in the North, Auckland District Health Board in the Central area of the region, and Counties Manukau District Health Board in the Southeast.


There are 21 District Health Boards (DHBs) in New Zealand responsible for providing, or funding the provision of, health and disability services in their district. With a collective staff of close to 20,000 in the Auckland region, and a wide range of services being offered out of six hospitals, Auckland represents an area of wonderful opportunity for health professionals.




healthAlliance supports the Auckland region’s District Health Boards by helping to lower costs and improve service levels through managing non-clinical core functions. With over 200 staff situated around Auckland, healthAlliance NZ Ltd plays a vital support role in the provision of healthcare services in Auckland.

Northern Regional Alliance

NRA provides House Officers and Registrars with information, tools and support to help Doctors get their medical career started in the NRA region. Whether it’s about working in the region, or career pathways and training opportunities, NRA can assist.